General Elections 2019 Schedule Announced

The Chief Election Commissioner of India, Sunil Arora, announced the dates for General Elections 2019 on March 10 in a press conference. The 17th rendition of Lok Sabha Elections will be conducted in seven phases spread across April and May. The first phase will begin on April 11 and the last phase will take place on May 19. The results will be declared on May 23.

With the announcement of this schedule, ‘Model Code of Conduct’ has also come into effect, which means that the politicians now have to be wary of not breaking the protocol. Among other restrictions, the code of conduct bars the government from launching any project that might affect public support.

The seven phases of voting will take place on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12, and May 19 in sequence. There are a total of 543 seats to be contested in 29 states and 7 union territories. The number of eligible voters this time is estimated to be about 90 crores—9 crore more than last time—out of which 13 crore will be first-time voters.

In this election season, I encourage all the first-time voters to go out, exercise their right to vote, and thus contribute in building the new India. #FirstTimeVoter #VoteKar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s