General Election 2019 Results: BJP record a landslide victory, “TsuNaMo” takes over India

With the result declaration on May 23, Modi & co. returned to power with a convenient win which saw them improve their poll performance from last time. BJP alone won 303 seats—21 more than last time—whereas NDA together secured 353 seats, a jump from 336 in 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

BJP’s arch-rival Congress also saw a small increase in seats won, capturing 52 seats over last time’s 42; however, it turned out to be nothing more than consolation by the time vote-counting finished.

Contrast to the UPA’s overall performance, Tamil Nadu’s regional party DMK was the biggest gainer from the alliance, which recorded victory in 23 seats. This outcome was way better than last time where they had failed to win even a single seat.

To be honest, NDA retaining governance was quite predictable. However, what wasn’t predictable at all was the Saffron Party’s surprise emergence in Amethi, the bastion of top Congress leaders, where Smriti Irani defeated Congress President Rahul Gandhi by a margin of over 50, 000 votes. With Amethi conquered, BJP achieved a remarkable feat as they breached their opposition’s so-called fortress for the first time in 20 years.

BJP’s progress report showed positive signs in previously uncharted territories of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Odisha, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, and Telangana—a major statement of the party’s increasing popularity and the opposition parties’ dwindling authority.

In a polarised election where people took sides either with Modi or against him, the subject of endless opposition attacks came to the fore unscathed and confirmed that “TsuNaMo” had struck India with full force.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s