Lok Sabha welcomes 267 first-time MPs

The General Elections are now done and dusted, and we finally know the names which will form the nation’s 17th Lok Sabha. While this was an election where a large number of youngsters became first-time voters, it was also an election where many politicians became first-time MPs.

Two of the most noticeable first-time MPs are renowned BJP politicians Amit Shah and Smriti Irani, who won in Gandhinagar (Gujarat) and Amethi (Uttar Pradesh) respectively. Irani’s Amethi win was specially symbolic as she ousted Rahul Gandhi from a constituency that had elected him consecutively since 2004.

Speaking of those politicians who contested their first General Elections, Tejasvi Surya from Bangalore South, Chandrani Murmu from Odisha’s Keonjhar constituency, Mimi Chakraborty from Jadavpur (West Bengal), and Nusrat Jahan from Basirhat (West Bengal) performed surprisingly well in their debut elections and became MPs for the very first time. Among them, Murmu’s win made her the youngest MP in the history of Lok Sabha.

Outspoken BJP member, Sadhvi Pragya Thakur secured a solid win as she outperformed popular Congress figure Digvijaya Singh, in Bhopal, to become MP for the very first time in her controversy-ridden political career.

Moreover, celebrities like Gautam Gambhir, Sunny Deol, and Mimi Chakraborty won big as they kicked off their political debuts with a victory, becoming first-time MPs in East Delhi (Delhi), Gurdaspur (Punjab), and Jadavpur (West Bengal) in order.

Hope the first-time MPs are as excited about playing their role as first-time voters are to see them in action.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s